Jesse White named the ‘Man of the Year’ by American Multi Ethnic Coalition. Simran Ahuja also honored

May 31, 2024 09:56 PM

Jesse White named the ‘Man of the Year’ by American Multi Ethnic Coalition

CHICAGO (Hello NRI) — Jesse White is American Multi Ethnic Coalition’s ‘Man of the Year.’ In Chicago's Chinatown, U.S. Congressman Danny K. Davis and Congressman Jonathan Jackson announced recipients of the 13th Annual American Multi-Ethnic Commission’s Congressional Global Awards. There former Secretary of State, Jesse White was honored with Man of the Year award.

There Ms Simran Ahuja was honoured with AMEC’s Congressional Award by Congressman Danny Davis accompanied by Congressman Jonathan Jackson.

Several other awards were also announced. Oakbrook-based Fusion Systems & Services has been named IT Digital Service Provider of the Year.

Tim Egan, CEO of Roseland Hospital, has received the President John F. Kennedy Award.

Johnny Zheng, President of the Mid-American Restaurant Association in Chicago, has been recognized as Builder of the Year.

Henry L. Timothy, Founder of the Midwest Coalition to Stop Violence, has been honored with the Community Activist of the Year.

Capital Hospice & Palliative Care, Oakbrook has been adjudged Outstanding Health Care Organization of the Year.

Judge Judy Rice, Circuit Judge of the Court of Cook County has been honoured with the Civic Leadership Award.

Chandra Prakash Chataut, Attending Physician at County Health in Chicago has been named Outstanding Physician of the Year.

Armani Homes in Dallas is Developer of the Year awardee; and Ms Saichang Xu, a Chicago attorney receives Civic Engagement Award.

Speaking at the occasion, Ms. Simran Ahuja, a yoga and fitness guru and author from Mumbai expressed her honor in being among the ethnic communities of America. “I am excited to anchor the [AMEC] Gala in Naperville that celebrates their [ethnic communities’] achievements and pride,” Simran Ahuja said.

Representatives of various communities also spoke at the event, including Chinese American Sam Ma, Indonesian American Martino Tangkar, Nigerian American Fatima Traore, African American Dr. Zenobia Sowell, and Indian American Naveenchandra Karna.

The awards will be presented on June 1st in a Gala in Naperville. The celebration, held annually by the American Multi-Ethnic Commission, will feature Congressman Danny K. Davis, Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi, Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle, and Mayor Scott Wehrli of Naperville.

Have something to say? Post your comment